Seaford Town CouncilSeaford Town Council
Seaford Town Council, 37 Church Street, Seaford, BN25 1HG.
Tel: 01323 894870  |  Fax: 01323 872976  |  Email:

2015/16 Young Mayor of Seaford - Jessica Batchelor

The current Young Mayor for  the 2015/16 Municipal Year is Jessica Batchelor. 

She will be working closely with the Mayor of Seaford and the Council over the coming year to strengthen the relationship between the Council and the youth of Seaford. The Deputy Young Mayor is Tom Exley.

Picture:  Tom Exley, Deputy Young Mayor with Jessica Batchelor, Young Mayor (l to r).

Role of Young Mayor

The Young Mayor is a position held for one Municipal year (May to April) with the aim of representing the views of young people in Seaford, to Seaford Town Council.

The Young Mayor is supported by a Deputy Young Mayor, who is elected annually prior to the Annual Meeting of the Council in May, during which the previous Deputy is sworn in as Young Mayor for the forthcoming year.

The Young Mayor, and Deputy, are invited to take part in the Civic events and occasions, some alongside the Mayor of Seaford and others representing the Mayor. The Young Mayor is also invited to give talks or speeches where possible, to help build a relationship with the people of Seaford and increase their profile.

Seaford has its own Youth Task Group and Youth Forum which is based at the Youth Centre on Mercread Road. Both hold meetings throughout the year. The Council has a Councillor that attends the meetings as a representative but the Young Mayor ought to also attend these meetings where possible to enable them to truly represent the youth of Seaford.

There are also Management Committee meetings for The Base youth facility situated on the Salts Recreational Ground which it would be beneficial for the Young Mayor to attend.

The Deputy is also encouraged to attend these meetings to support the Young Mayor and prepare themselves for the following year when they take on the role of Young Mayor.

Past Young Mayors

In 2009 Seaford became the first town in the South East of the country to elect a Young Mayor. The scheme was set up by the Council in partnership with Seaford Head Community College, with past Mayor of Seaford, Councillor Carolyn Lambert, working closely with the school and youth of the town to get the scheme up and running.

2009/10 Oscar Hardy

2010/11 Ellie Homan

2011/12 Maddie Jay

2012/13 Amy Gough

2013/14 Georgia Colyer

2014/15 Millie Hemsley

​2015/16 Gabrielle Edwards

Local Council Award Scheme Foundation