Seaford Town Meeting

Minutes of the Town Meeting held at The View at Seaford Head, Southdown Road, Seaford on Tuesday 21st May 2019 at 7.00pm.

Present from Seaford Town Council:

Councillor L Wallraven (2018-19 Mayor), Councillor N Adil (2019-2020 Mayor) Councillors L Boorman, P Boorman, M Brown, J Cash, S Dunn, J Edson, M Everden, M Hayder, R Hayder, R Honeyman, O Honeyman, A Latham, R Morland and R Reed. Young Mayor 2018-19, Dominic Avey Mr J Corrigan (Town Clerk), Mr C Andrews (Deputy Clerk and RFO), Mrs I Mouland (Executive Support Officer), Mrs G Saunderson-Barker (Mayor's Secretary) and Mrs L Clark (Finance Manager) Peter White, Seaford's Town Crier

Approximately 80 members of the public were also in attendance.

1. Welcome and Introductions by the Mayor

The Mayor welcomed the attendees and outlined the format of the evening. The forum recorded a vote of thanks to the outgoing Mayor Cllr Linda Wallraven for her dedication to duty and her excellent fund raising.

2. Minutes

The minutes of the Annual Town Meeting held 22nd May 2018 were agreed by the meeting.

3. Seaford Town Council Update

James Corrigan, Town Clerk, gave an update on the Council's activities over the last four years which were achieved through the previous administration.

The Town Clerk welcomed the newly elected councillors and presented an update on the Council's Strategic Objectives and the current plans for the coming year.

Questions and discussions took place about The View and golf course and their financial impact on taxpayers, parking on the seafront, the Martello Museum as a listed building and the council's project activities over the previous four years being self-funded.

4. Young Mayor Awards

Dominic Avey, Young Mayor 2018-19, gave an update on his year in office as Young Mayor and announced that he had raised over £1000 for the art, drama and music department of Seaford Head School. Dominic also thanked the Deputy Young Mayor, James Jenkins (now Young Mayor 2019-20), who unfortunately was not able to attend.

Dominic Avey presented his Young Mayor's Award, sponsored by Seaford Rotary Club, to local student Ryan Brown who is a World Champion Trampolinist.

5. Presentations from Recipients of Large Grants

Verbal and visual reports were given by representatives of recipients of large grants awarded by Seaford Town Council in 2018-19 from Care for the Carers, Cuckmere Buses, Motorfest, Seaford Lifeguards, Seaford Musical Theatre, Seaford Scouts, SeeAbility, Waves Seaford Ltd., Lewes District CAB and Community Transport for Lewes Area.

5. Mayor's Community Awards

Mayor, Councillor Linda Wallraven, presented the annual Mayor's Awards, for individuals and organisations that have helped support and enrich the town and its residents or have inspired others with their personal stories and accomplishments.

The awardees were Jennifer Wright for her long term voluntarily help ensuring Seaford's noticeboards are tidy and up to date, The Old Town Hall Volunteers, The Crouch Bowling Club, Dan

Phillips (Local War Veteran and Invictus Games participant), Seaford Museum and Heritage Society and Brenda Edwards (Teddy Treats).

The Annual Don Mabey award was presented to Charlie Grimble. Councillor Wallraven gave a short speech on the invaluable hours of volunteered time given by Charlie for the Seaford Neighbourhood Plan.

Councillor Wallraven presented cheques to both Teddy Treats and Seaford Museum and Heritage Society, her chosen charities for the 2018-19 Municipal Year. £2,234.42 (for each charity) had been raised during her previous year as Mayor.

Councillor Wallraven presented a bouquet of flowers to her consort, Liz Holland, and Gemma Saunderson-Barker, Mayor's Secretary for 2018-19, to thank them for all their support during the previous year.

7. Question & Answer Time

Attendees thanked the past Mayor, Councillor Wallraven and welcomed the new Mayor, Council Adil. The forum recorded a vote of thanks to the Town Clerk and his team for their excellent work over the past 4 years and for their efforts to improve Seaford Town Council as a council of repute.

Councillor Adil thanked all Seaford Town Council officers for facilitating and arranging the 2019 Town Forum and everyone for attending.

The meeting ended at 8.30pm.

Councillor Nazish Adil Mayor of Seaford